Dessert · Food

Peanut Butter Blondies

I did it. I finally switched from Blogger to WordPress. It’s been on my mind for awhile, but I was sooooo dang comfortable (and a tad bit lazy, lezbee honest…) with Blogger that I didn’t want to switch. But after a slight learning curve, I’m loving WordPress! Ack! #addicted

So, go figure my very first post is about food. I love food. So dang much. And here’s the thing, I could eat and eat and eat and still not be full. I was blessed with a healthy appetite, what can I say?

Such is life.

While I love food dearly, I’m also trying to be a *little* bit healthier with my choices. That nagging mother voice always comes into my head Make good choices! whenever I look at food. While I’d love a good, juicy burger pretty much every day of the week, I’m now an adult and have to make good choices.

Psssst. Let me tell you a little secret… Being adult is sooooo overrated.

IMG_4203

But now I’m nearing the ripe old age of 32 and have 3 girls and my greatest desire in this world of body objectification is to teach them to love those bodies that God gave them. All 3 of my girls have different body shapes and sizes, and they are all. so. dang. beautiful. So, a lot of my focus with them is being healthy and having balance in all things.

Do we eat sugar? Heck to the yes! Do we eat pizza? Give me a slice or two and I’m as happy as a clam! But Nate and I both know the damaging effects of NOT being healthy, so we’ve decided to pull up our grown-up panties and focus on being healthy.

So, what does healthy mean for our family? It means, eating 10 good foods a day. Good foods range from fruits, veggies, lean meats, whole grains, dairy, nuts, and beans. 5 of those good foods needs to be fruits and veggies. We’ve been focusing on drinking a lot more water instead of Diet Coke (well, that’s mostly my focus. #dietcokeforlife is my motto) or instead of juice… and let’s be honest. Drinking water is extremely cost efficient! Ha!

Being healthy also needs to overflow into other parts of our life. Being spiritually healthy means taking time for God. Meditating. Praying. Searching scriptures. Talking about our religious beliefs and why we try and follow God’s teaching.

Being healthy also means serving others. Thinking of someone else’s needs before your own. Being courteous. Being kind.  NOT YELLING AT EACH OTHER. 🙂

You get the idea.

I feel that as a mother, I feel a very heavy sense of duty to be educated about all this healthiness. AND IT IS OVERWHELMING. Oh goodness, is it ever overwhelming! Which is why, one recipe at a time, I want my kids to know that eating healthy doesn’t have to suck. (I know… such an eloquent things to say. Bwah ah ah) and it doesn’t have to be boring or gross! And you can still satisfy that sweet tooth… but in a guilt-free way. 🙂

So without further introduction, I give you these uh-mazing PEANUT BUTTER BLONDIES.

IMG_4207

Yeah, just look at that little glob of heaven. Oh. Goodness. This is now the second batch I’ve made and to say these are life-changing is an understatement. I’ve had “healthy” blondies before, and they were okay…. so I started to scour Pinterest for a new recipe, and this popped up from ifoodreal.com and I will never make another type of blondie again. Healthy or unhealthy. I topped mine with 1/4 cup of sugar free ice cream and drizzled it with some peanut butter, and I honestly felt like I was at a restaurant indulging in some hideous sugar-laden dessert. #notexaggerating. I think one of the biggest differences was I found this creamy, all natural peanut butter that is unlike any other natural peanut butter I’ve ever had. It’s more like a peanut butter sauce. Not sticky or clumpy… smooth, velvety, and it makes me swoon.

open-nature-peanut-butter-110995

But my happiest moment? When my girls gobbled them up for an afternoon snack and thought they were so cool because they were getting a sugary snack. But I thought I was cool because little did they know, these didn’t have any processed sugar in them. I’m tricky like that.

IMG_4204

IMG_4211

Yeah, just take a long look at that little love of a blondie. It has so much happiness and cheer to give. And I’ll gladly take it!

xoxox,

Claudia

Peanut Butter Blondies

One thought on “Peanut Butter Blondies

Leave a Reply

